British Society for Haemostasis and Thrombosis

The British Society for Haemostasis and Thrombosis (BSHT) is registered as a Charity (Number 282204). It is the main  Academic Thrombosis & Haemostasis Society in the United Kingdom.

The objectives of the BSTH are the advancement of public education and the promotion of all branches of medical science concerned with haemostasis and thrombosis.

In July 1979, the International Society on Thrombosis and Haemostasis held its seventh International Congress at the Festival Hall, London. The President of the Congress was Professor GVR Born, FRS, the vice-president Professor TW Meade, FRS, and the scientific secretary the late Professor Arthur Bloom.

The committee considered that the success of the Congress should be commemorated by something of a more permanent nature, and Dr Duncan Thomas suggested that be used set up a British Society for Haemostasis and Thrombosis. This proposal received general support from the Committee, and accordingly a letter was then sent to all those in the UK who were known to be interested in the field.

The response to this letter was very encouraging, and an inaugural meeting of the Society was held in the spring of 1980 at the Institute of Child Health in London, under the chairmanship of the late Professor Roger Hardisty. The meeting then formally elected Professor GVR Born as the first President of the Society, with Dr Duncan Thomas as the first Secretary.

The decision was made early on to open membership to all interested individuals with a demonstrated commitment to the field, whether their background was primarily medical or scientific. The Society has continued to meet twice a year since 1980, and has grown to a membership of over 300.

Dr Keith Gomez Katherine Dormandy Haemophilia Centre and Thrombosis Unit, Royal Free London NHS Foundation Trust

In furtherance of these objectives the Society holds regular meetings at which members of the Society and their guests present and discuss their work.

Funds Available for Travel and Research
Travel Grants

Educational Sub-Committee Grants

Congress Bursaries

Further information is available at the webpage: